EL CAPITOL II

El CAPITOL II

Day 10 (January 10, 2014) – Austin, Texas

On my last day in Austin I wasted the daylight again in meetings and probably had one too many glasses of wine at dinner. It’s 2AM and I have a 6AM flight, but an image must be made.  After wandering the streets looking for something interesting to photography I found myself at the capitol building again. This time I walk through the gates to get a close up inspection of the architectural detail. It’s even more impressive from this vantage point. The pink granite and limestone shine bright in the darkness of night and the well manicured grounds surrounding the building are a lush green – except of course the trees which seem to still be fighting winter.  I chose to edit this image in black and white because I thought the details of the stonework stand out more only extenuated by the trees that frame the image.

Leave a Reply

