Night Train

Night Train

Day 38 (February 7, 2014) – New York, NY

It’s Friday night and I’m tired. It’s been a long week at work and I just want to go home and sleep. Yea… an early night on a Friday! I guess I am really starting to show my age. I learned how to fall asleep on trains when I lived in Japan years ago. Before that…I knew always to keep my guard. Eyes wide open, conscious of the evils that lurk around me. I remember the old days of graffiti filled subways with a grit and grime that signified the dirty Apple. There was nothing Disney about New York City in the late 80s. That’s were I honed my subway etiquette….that is…until it all went out the window when I moved to Japan. Everyone sleeps on the trains there. And it’s common to have the person next to you use your shoulder for a headrest. Trust me, it’s happened to me a million times and I’m sure I just about cuddled with a fellow passenger on my two hour ride to Tokyo.  But on this Friday night, I’m in New York city and I spot a passenger catching some ZZZs, almost foreshadowing what’s about to come in my life as soon as I make my way to Clinton Hill.  I take my shot and I wish him well as he travels home on the night train.

Leave a comment