FORTUNATE SON

DAY49 wEB_-3

Day 49 (February 18, 2014) – New York, NY

“Some folks are born to wave the flag, Ooh, they’re red, white and blue” – Creedence Clearwater Revival

Every so often there is a strong military presence in New York. I’m not talking worst than the police state that Giulini ushered in inthe late 90s.  Soldiers, who all appear to be in their early 20s,  can be seen carrying M-16s as commuters rush home after a long day in the office completely unfazed by their presence.  On these days, every soldier I see reminds me just how vulnerable we are at times and that there are people out there willing to harm the innocent.  I know this has been our reality since the towers dropped and we entered endless wars, but it still unnerves me at times.  I look into the faces of the soldiers I see and it’s hard not to wonder about their backgrounds and what the circumstance was that caused them to enlist. Patriotic duty? Promise of international travel? Lack of economic opportunity at home? Simply, a way out? What ever their story is I have to respect what they do even if I don’t agree with some of the fights we have chosen.  To the men and women who protect us everyday, I salute you.

One thought on “FORTUNATE SON”

Leave a Reply

