SHADOWS

DAY58__22BW web

Day 59 (February 28, 2014) – New York, NY

I’ve just about had it with this damn cold weather! I love street photography, but I nearly lost a finger to the frigid temperature today as searched for my image this afternoon.

I forgot my gloves in the office and I didn’t have too much time to spare, so ventured out in the elements. I kept my hands in my pockets as I weaved through a sea of office workers running to grab lunch with their pace an indicator on how cold it is outside.  Me. I’m rushing too to meet a friend for lunch and hopefully get come across a worthy subject to document.  Walking back to the office I noticed the high contrast shadows cast by a mixture of afternoon sunlight and modern architecture. It’s a beautiful light that I’ve admired these past few years working in midtown. On this day, I pause. Take my hands out of my pockets even through they are perfectly warm. I wait a bit with finger on the shutter release until the moment is right. A few minutes go by and I shoot – snapping a couple of frames for good measure and because my fingers really aren’t working too well. In the few minutes I spent waiting for my shot, my hands nearly froze! Seriously people. My joints were stiff! Ok…maybe I’m over exaggerating, but it was still damn cold!

2 thoughts on “SHADOWS”

Leave a Reply

