ROEBLING’S BRIDGE

Day 91_1Day 91 (April 1, 2014) – New York, NY

There is nothing like walking over the Brooklyn Bridge (even with a billion tourist stopping every 5 seconds). It’s nice day and I left work early to go the dentist. I kinda hate the dentist, but I like teeth, so it’s a necessary evil. So, back to the Brooklyn Bridge….yea, I’m walking across. Why not, it’s nice outside and I’m about to jump on a conference call for the next two hours. Might as well enjoy the day. And as a planning nerd I love thinking about how this bridge was constructed. First, I’m amazed that it’s more than 100 years old! Second, I think it’s crazy that they were doing underwater construction back then. Seriously, they created airtight wooden chambers where workers would use shovels and dynamite to clear away mud and boulders until they hit bedrock. These caissons chambers were held down by granite and they pumped air inside from the surface. Again, people…this is 100 years ago! Needless to say, it was a dangerous job usually done by underpaid immigrants. John Roebling designed the bridge and several other similar structures in rust belt cities across the country.

Today. I marvel at its beauty and engineering….and the billion tourist striking poses in every corner. I point my camera up to homage to the suspension technology the crisscrossed shapes of wires holding the bridge up.

Leave a Reply

