Signs of Spring

Day 111 WEB_-2Day 111 (April 21, 2014) – New York, NY

Despite it being about 35-40 degrees today, I finally see it. I see signs of spring. Sure there were the Cherry Blossoms that appeared to last exactly one second or a few blinks. Blink once, they were in bloom and beautiful. Blink twice their pedals were falling like snow. A third blink….they were gone. And for whatever reason with their departure came yet another visit from the cold. I think for the record that I’m blaming Canadians! Not just the country of Canada, but I figure I would actually blame the people too. They are way to comfortable up there with their winter sports and what not. It’s suppose to be spring and guess what, the hockey playoffs are still happening!?!? So, they are getting the blame! To hell with Tim Hortons, Wayne Gretzky and a Toonie! I want my Spring! I want to wake up and look out the window and see people walking around with sunglasses and short sleeves! I want to retire my damn winter coat already!

I think the trees are feeling it too. Or maybe they are just rebelling and their leaves are beginning to sprout in spite of their weather.  Hopefully they carry some type of magical force that finally rids us of the endless winter.

5 thoughts on “Signs of Spring”

  1. No fair! Canadians are awesome! We embrace winter cause when Mother Nature gives you snowflakes, we ski, snowboard, snowmobile and play hockey! (Then get Timmy’s) ❄️

    1. Ok. ok ok…. I know I can’t really blame Canada, but I’ve been looking for someone to blame for this terrible NY winter and unfortunately I walked by a Tim Horton’s earlier so Canada was fresh on my mind. 🙂

      1. 🙂 think it is time for you to visit Canada with your camera of course! (Spring is in full bloom here!)

      2. Well…now that the snow is finally gone, I might just have to make it up that way to visit some family. I tons of cousins in Mississauga and I’m long overdue for a visit.

Leave a Reply

