TO LIVE AND DIE IN NEW YORK

DAY 124_-18 BWDay 124 (May 4, 2014) – Queens, NY

I am afraid to die. I don’t know what’s next and it scares me. Do you drift off into nothingness only to be memories for the living? Is there a heaven or a hell? And where am I going? I’ve lived life a slave to certainty and the need to know. The idea of growing old and completing my time on this planet haunts me every day. Especially as I witness my body break down. My knees hurt. I’m not as quick as I use to be (for the record, I was really never that quick). I’m also watching people I love get older and fail in health.  I dread late night phone calls from family members. I want to turn back the clock. No, I want to stop the clock from progressing. I want to live an eternity with no worries. I don’t want to be afraid of the inevitable. But I am.

 

7 thoughts on “TO LIVE AND DIE IN NEW YORK”

  1. That’s a bit too haunting for this early in the week. Love the juxtaposition! She looks like she’s acknowledging the pain of the countless souls behind her.

  2. I don´t care too much about my own death or what happens next… But sometimes I feel extremely worried about my family/friends death (I wonder why!) 😦
    Since this happen, I need to hug them more often.

    1. I agree. We should always hug the ones we love a little more. It doesn’t hurt and it just lets them know that you care about them and that they mean something to you. (I will definitely be hugging a few friends this week!)

Leave a Reply

