KASPAROV vs THE MACHINE

DAY 152_WB_-7Day 152 (June 1, 2014) – New York, NY

Out for a Sunday stroll in Washington Square Park. This is my favorite spot to lose about $20 playing chess. I’m trying to get my skills up. You know, I hit’em with a Ruy Lopez open (1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bb5) or maybe I start with a Danish Gambit (1.e4 e5 2.d4 exd4 3.c3). Whatever the open…I’m just trying to win. Straight check mate in like 10 moves! Or that slow game…..hit’em with he okey-doke and bamn! got your lady! one more move…bam… the king falls! Game over. I gloat. I have to. It’s like when you score the winning basket or touchdown…you gotta say something. And I expect the trash talk right back… something like…”son, your game is weak. It’s like you had a board full of pawns!” or “ooooooooooooohhhhhh, you see how I took your rook, son! Word… and I straight bodied your knight! Dag….you’re lady don’t even want to see me! I’m coming for that queen!”. And sometimes, you just have to let your play do the talking…and then you finish with a “Oh, you didn’t see that coming? Hmmm. I knew I was going to mate you 5 moves ago. :-)”

But today…I’m just a spectator watching man vs. machine.  The silver robot carefully calculating every move and the man, a Washington Square Park grandmaster hustling everybody out of a dollar. Even a robot.

Leave a Reply

