Cross at the Side of the Road

DAY 160-61__1Day 160 (June 9, 2014) – Northern California

I don’t know exactly where I am. I’m driving on an endless road with rolling hills and fields of crops around me. Everything looks the same. A tinged light orange / yellow is the dominate color as dry grass fills the landscape – undoubtedly the effects of a two year drought.  There aren’t many cars on the road either which is not comforting as I travel further and further away from city life. My GPS tells me I’m going the right direction, but I’m unsure.  Everything looks the same…until it doesn’t. I spot a single cross shaded by massive trees. I continue my drive because I’m late. And now my mind is racing about the image that flashed before me at 55 mph. I stop and turn back. I’m just going to have to be late. I don’t know who or what is buried under that cross. Is it a farther or mother? Is it a beloved pet? Why are they alone? My thoughts get the best of me before I turn away and move on. I’ll never know the story of the cross at the side of the road, but I desperately want to.

Leave a Reply

