FORSHAY

TWINCITIS_WEB_-42Day 164 (June 13, 2014) – Minneapolis, MN

It’s been a long day and an even longer week. This is the 4th and final city. Not sure why I do this to myself. Definitely going to make some changes in my travel life. I’m here at the Forshay (aka W Hotel). I love how hotel chains have managed to re-purpose old office buildings and other structures.  I always wonder what happened to the business or namesake of the building…..in this case I just had to do a little google search and this is what I found.

“Forshay Tower – The first skyscraper built west of the Mississippi and the tallest building in Minneapolis until 1971, the Foshay Tower was intended as a tribute to the Washington Monument. The Art Deco-style office tower was the brainchild of Wilbur B. Foshay, a multimillionaire real estate developer who prospered in the public utilities business.”

The tower was opened just before the stock market crash of 1929 where Foshay lost his entire fortune!

Leave a Reply

