Mezzo-Soprano

Day 263Day 263 (September 21, 2014) – New York, NY

‘Nacqui all’affanno e al pianto,
Soffri tacendo il core;
Ma per soave incanto
Dell’età mia nel fiore,
Come un baleno rapido
La sorte mia cangiò.

No, no, no, no, tergete il ciglio :
Perchè tremar, perché?
A questo sen volate,
Figlia, sorella, amica
Tutto trovate in me.

Non più mesta accanto al fuoco
Starò sola a gorgheggiar, no!
Ah fu un lampo, un sogno, un gioco
il mio lungo palpitar.’

She sang with a voice that would make angels cry with joy. Every note danced around the theater penetrating deep into the inner souls of the audience. I felt every note as I sat on the edge of my seat listening to the opera singer commanding the stage….my friend..Shirin……the opera singer.  She smiled and toyed with the audience as she belted out beautiful note after note. We’ve been friends for almost 7 years and this is the first time I heard her sing. I’ve always managed to be away during her New York shows and she always managed to be away performing in another state or country when I was grounded in New York. But today, the stars were aligned and I sat in Lincoln Center in complete awe of my friend.  She truly has an amazing voice and I’m glad I finally got to hear it.

Leave a Reply

